Zebra TC22R: an RFID handheld with nothing clipped on
The TC22R is Zebra’s integrated handheld RFID reader: reader, barcode scanner, NFC and Android computer in one housing, instead of a mobile computer with a sled on top. For a single fashion shop that is the simplest arrangement, because one device, one battery and one charging cradle are enough. This page places the performance figures, gives the price with a source, and deals openly with the one point on which Zebra’s own datasheets contradict each other: the range.
- What the TC22R is and who it is for
- RFID performance in detail
- The range question: 24.4 m or 12.2 m
- Full technical specification
- What that means in a fashion shop
- What this device is not good for
- Prices, sources and the costs alongside
- Accessories, charging and software
- Alternatives and when they fit better
- Radio approval in Europe
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources
What the TC22R is and who it was built for
The Zebra TC22R is an Android handheld with UHF RFID, a 1D and 2D barcode imager, NFC and a camera in the same housing. Zebra lists it as the TC22R Integrated Handheld RFID Reader within the TC2xR series and positions it as an integrated handheld RFID reader, that is as the counter-model to the usual combination of a mobile computer with a clipped-on RFID sled.
The usual way to put RFID into a shop looks like this. You buy a mobile computer. You buy an RFID sled to go with it. You buy an adapter that joins the two. And you end up with two batteries, two charging places and two devices that have to match each other. That works well if you run a fleet of mobile computers anyway. In a single shop with a single reader it is needlessly complicated.
That is exactly where the TC22R starts. It is one device. You charge one battery. You train people on one interface. There is no adapter matching, no question of whether the right connector exists for your model, and no second firmware line to keep track of. For the stocktake of a fashion shop with one sales floor and one stockroom, that is the leaner solution.
The TC22R belongs to the TC2xR series. The common spelling “TC22-RFID” is unofficial; the correct designation is TC22R. The ending of the article number tells you which radio region the device was built for: -E8 and -WR stand for Europe and for the worldwide build, -US and -FT for the United States and Canada. An example of a US build is TC2205-0G1250SS-US. In Europe you need the European build, and not out of caution but because the US build may not be operated here. More on that in the section on radio approval.
There is no variant with a mobile network. On the current evidence no TC27R with WWAN exists. Anyone looking for an RFID handheld with a SIM card will not find one in this series, and that is a real limitation rather than a detail, because it means the device is only as connected as your own wireless network reaches.
- Form factor
- integrated handheld with a pistol grip; RFID inside the housing instead of as an attachment
- Read rate
- up to 1,300 tags per second (manufacturer figure, spec sheet)
- Nominal read range
- 24.4 m per the European datasheet, 12.2 m per the US datasheet — contradictory, see below
- Working range in a shop
- around 2–5 m, our own estimate and no manufacturer figure
- EU frequency
- 865–868 MHz, 1.45 to 31.45 dBm ERP (spec sheet)
- Weight
- 569 g including the battery — a TC22 plus an RFD40 sled come to around 777 g
- Battery
- 7,000 mAh Li-Ion PowerPrecision+, user-replaceable, quick-release
- Protection and drop
- IP65 · repeated 1.5 m drops onto concrete · 500 tumble cycles
- Memory
- 6 GB RAM, 64 GB flash
- Radio
- Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 5.2, NFC, USB-C 3.1 — no WWAN
- Price
- around 1,295 € net (MicroNordic, EU SKU -E8, as at 08/2026)
- Market launch
- October 2025
The market launch was in October 2025. For a device of this class that is young. There is little published long-term experience from retail yet: no dependable statements on battery ageing after two years, on repair rates, or on the availability of spare parts across the lifecycle. That is not an accusation, but it belongs on the table when you are making an investment decision over five years.
Who this pays off for
The TC22R is built for a business that counts its own stock and wants one device to do it with. In fashion retail that means the full stocktake, checking in a season delivery, transfers between branches, recurring interim counts of single product groups, and searching for one piece a customer is asking about. All of those run on the same device, with the same battery, from the same charging cradle.
The case is strongest where nothing is there yet. If you are starting from scratch, the integrated device saves you the entire compatibility question that a sled raises: which adapter, which host, which of the two firmware levels is out of date. The counter-case is equally clear. If you already have Zebra mobile computers in the building and they take a sled, then you buy only the RFID part and the sled is cheaper. We set that comparison out in full under alternatives.
What the TC22R explicitly is not
It is not a till system and not stock control software. It delivers a list of EPC numbers read to the application running on it, and what becomes of them is decided by that software. It is not a till scanner either: for the selling process at the counter a pistol grip weighing 569 grams is the wrong shape, and that is what presentation scanners such as the Zebra DS9908R are for. And it prints nothing. The labels are produced beforehand, on an RFID printer that writes text, barcode and chip in one pass.
It equally does not check whether a number it has read belongs to the right article. That link is created when you marry the RFID label to the existing barcode, and it then lives in your stock file. How that step works in practice is set out in our guide to RFID stocktaking; the basics of the technology are covered in the RFID guide and on the page about RFID readers.
What the reader module actually delivers
Per the Zebra spec sheet the TC22R reads up to 1,300 tags per second and works in Europe in the band from 865 to 868 MHz at 1.45 to 31.45 dBm ERP. It handles EPC Class 1 Gen 2, EPC Gen 2 V2 and Zebra’s own radio technology. In fashion retail the read rate is practically never the bottleneck; the range and reaching the goods are.
1,300 tags per second sounds like a marketing figure, but it is easy enough to place. EPC Gen2 works with slotted anti-collision: the reader calls, the tags answer one after another in randomly chosen slots, collisions are resolved and the round is repeated. Letting all the tags answer at once does not work; what happens is a very fast sequence. So 1,300 answers per second mean that a rail holding 200 pieces is captured in a sixth of a second, provided every label lies in the field.
That is the point many suppliers emphasise wrongly. Whether a device manages 200 or 1,300 tags per second decides almost nothing in a fashion shop. For 4,000 pieces the arithmetic gives 20 seconds against 3 seconds. Both vanish against the time you need to walk 120 square metres of sales floor. The read rate only becomes relevant when you are driving pallets through a doorway portal at goods-in.
What the high rate does buy you is completeness rather than speed. The more tags stand in the field at once, the more collisions and repeat rounds there are. A fast reader plays those rounds through quickly, and a densely packed rail is therefore captured in a single sweep instead of individual pieces slipping past. That is worth having, but it is not the same claim as a shorter stocktake.
Frequencies and transmit power
The regions differ in band and in permitted power. The unit matters: Europe measures in ERP, the United States in EIRP, and the two are not directly comparable. 2 W ERP corresponds to roughly 3.3 W EIRP. The American limit of 4 W EIRP is therefore only about 20 per cent above the European one, not double, as is often written. That conversion is our own and follows from the 2.15 dB difference between a half-wave dipole and an isotropic radiator.
| Region | Frequency band | Transmit power per the spec sheet |
|---|---|---|
| Europe | 865–868 MHz | 1.45 to 31.45 dBm ERP |
| United States | 902–928 MHz | 4 to 34 dBm EIRP |
| Australia | 920–925 MHz | 3.1 to 35.1 dBm EIRP |
| Further single channels | 916.3 / 917.5 / 918.7 MHz | 3.3 to 33.3 dBm EIRP |
Convert the European peak figure: 31.45 dBm is roughly 1.4 W ERP. So in European operation the device stays below the permitted 2 W ERP under ETSI EN 302 208. It does not use the European limit fully, which is one more reason to treat the 24.4 metre figure from the EU datasheet with care. A device that transmits below the ceiling does not usually reach further than one that does not.
Protocols
The spec sheet lists EPC Class 1 Gen 2, EPC Gen 2 V2 and Zebra Proprietary Radio Technology. ISO 18000-63 is not there. That standard is technically largely congruent with EPC Gen2, but Zebra does not list it for this device, so we do not claim it here either. In practice it makes no difference: commercially available UHF labels with Impinj M700 chips or NXP UCODE chips are read. Which labels come into question is set out on our page about RFID labels and chip types.
24.4 metres or 12.2 metres: a contradiction inside one manufacturer
Zebra states two different nominal ranges for the TC22R. The European spec sheet says in so many words “Nominal RFID Read Range (Integrated Antenna): 80 ft. / 24.4 m”. The US spec sheet of the same device says “40 ft. / 12.2 m”. We retrieved both editions on 26.08.2026 and the contradiction is reproducible. Plan with 12.2 metres as the nominal figure, and with 2 to 5 metres as the number that counts in a shop.
This is the most important part of this page, so we take it apart step by step.
| Source | Figure stated | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|
| Zebra spec sheet, GB edition (applies to the EU) | 80 ft. / 24.4 m | 26.08.2026 |
| Zebra spec sheet, US edition, same model | 40 ft. / 12.2 m | 26.08.2026 |
| MicroNordic, EU distributor, for the EU SKU -E8 | 24.4 m | 26.08.2026 |
| Atlas RFID Store | 24.4 m | 26.08.2026 |
| Trade press at the launch, October 2025 | 12.2 m | 26.08.2026 |
| What we plan with | 12.2 m nominal, 2 to 5 m in a shop | our own decision, not a manufacturer figure |
First: both figures are documented
The 24.4 metres stand in the European spec sheet, and they stand likewise at the dealer Atlas RFID and at the EU distributor MicroNordic for the EU SKU -E8. The 12.2 metres stand in the US spec sheet for the same model, and the trade press reported 12.2 metres as well when the device was introduced in October 2025. This is not a rumour against a datasheet. It is two datasheets from the same manufacturer, retrieved on the same day, saying different things about the same product.
Second: we do not know why
Zebra explains the difference nowhere publicly. An explanation through transmit power suggests itself but does not carry. The US build may transmit at up to 34 dBm EIRP, the EU build at up to 31.45 dBm ERP, which corresponds to roughly 33 dBm EIRP. A difference that small does not double a read range: on the forward link, which is the one that has to wake the passive chip, doubling the distance costs four times the power, so a factor of two in range would need roughly 6 dB rather than one. That estimate is our own and it assumes the link is limited by the energy reaching the tag, which for passive UHF it usually is. More likely is a different measurement method, or simply an error in one of the two documents. We therefore mark this figure as not conclusively verifiable and work with the conservative value throughout this page.
It is worth being clear about what that decision costs and what it buys. Working with 12.2 metres cannot make a purchase look better than it is, and if the European figure turns out to be the accurate one you have simply bought more headroom than you planned for. Working with 24.4 metres has the opposite risk profile: it makes the device look twice as capable as the conservative reading, and there is no source that resolves the question either way. When two numbers from one manufacturer disagree, the smaller one is the only one that cannot disappoint you.
Third, and this is the real point: a nominal range is a laboratory value
It is measured in an open field, with a well-readable reference tag, no interference and optimal orientation. You will find those conditions in no shop. In a fashion shop, between the antenna and the label there is dense textile that attenuates the field; steel rails and metal shelving that reflect and produce cancellations; stacked goods where the inner labels are shaded by the outer ones; and customers, who are eighty per cent water and swallow UHF signals.
In one line: plan on 2 to 5 metres of practically usable range in a fashion shop, not on 12 and certainly not on 24. That reduction is our own estimate and no manufacturer figure. It is not a flaw in this device but physics; every UHF handheld behaves this way. Anyone arguing 24 metres in a sales conversation is selling a disappointment along with the device.
The good news is that 2 to 5 metres are entirely sufficient for the purpose. At three metres you stand in the aisle and sweep a complete rail without touching it. You reach the upper shelves without fetching a ladder. That is exactly the difference from devices with roughly a metre of range, where you have to step up to every single item. How strongly range affects the length of a count is explained in the basics under RFID readers, and what part the antenna plays is covered under RFID antennas.
If the exact range is business-critical for you, because you want to count a high-bay store alongside the shop floor, have the device sent to you on approval before you buy and measure in your own rooms, with your own labels and your own goods. Against that, any figure from a datasheet is only an approximation, and on this particular device it is an approximation that contradicts itself.
What to write into a tender
If you have to put a number in a document, put both in and name the source of each. A tender that states “nominal read range 24.4 m” without a source is unusable the moment somebody produces the US datasheet, and a tender that states 12.2 m without a source invites the same objection from the other direction. The formulation that survives scrutiny is the one that says which document each figure comes from and which of them the calculation uses. Ask the distributor for a written statement of the nominal range for the SKU actually being delivered; that is one line, and it turns a contradiction into a supplier commitment.
The TC22R in full
All figures come from the official Zebra spec sheet of the TC2xR series, retrieved on 26.08.2026 in the GB edition, unless marked otherwise.
| Item | Figure |
|---|---|
| Form factor | integrated handheld with a pistol grip, RFID fixed inside the housing |
| Display | 6.0 inch FHD+ (1080 × 2160), LED backlight, 450 nits, multi-mode capacitive |
| Processor | Qualcomm 5430, hexa-core, 2.1 GHz |
| Memory | 6 GB RAM, 64 GB flash |
| Operating system | Android 13 and 14 available; Android 16 named as the final supported version by a distributor. Not verifiable: the TC22R is absent from Zebra’s official table of supported Android versions |
| RFID module | UHF with an integrated antenna, up to 1,300 tags/s, EPC Class 1 Gen 2, EPC Gen 2 V2, Zebra Proprietary Radio Technology |
| Scan engine | SE4710, 1D and 2D imager |
| Camera | 16 MP rear, 5 MP front |
| NFC | ISO 14443 type A and B, Mifare, FeliCa, ISO 15693 cards |
| Radio | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax, 2.4 / 5 / 6 GHz, dual-band simultaneous), Bluetooth 5.2 Class 2. No WWAN, no mobile network |
| Battery | 7,000 mAh Li-Ion PowerPrecision+, user-replaceable, quick-release |
| Dimensions | 145 × 84 × 177 mm (height × width × length) |
| Weight | 569 g including the battery |
| Protection rating | IP65 |
| Drop and tumble | repeated 1.5 m onto concrete; 500 tumble cycles, equivalent to 1,000 drops from 0.5 m |
| Temperature | -10 °C to +50 °C in operation, -40 °C to +70 °C in storage, humidity 5 to 95 per cent non-condensing |
| Connectors | USB-C 3.1 on the underside |
| Region SKU | -E8 and -WR for Europe and worldwide; -US and -FT for the United States and Canada |
Manufacturer figures, GB edition of the spec sheet. The nominal read range is deliberately absent from this table, because it contradicts itself between Zebra’s own editions; it is handled in its own section on the range question.
Two figures that deserve a comment
6 GB RAM and 64 GB flash are thin for a device at 1,295 euro net. For a stocktaking application and a local stock comparison they are ample; if you intend to run the device in five years on a then-current Android version with several business applications alongside, this is the point at which it gets tight. A microSD slot is not listed in the spec sheet, so the storage you buy is the storage you keep.
And the operating temperature from -10 °C is irrelevant for a sales floor but is the limit for an unheated outdoor store in January. Anyone scanning goods-in in the yard should keep it in view. Storage is specified from -40 to +70 °C, so overnight in a cold van is not a problem in itself; operating in those conditions is.
One row is worth reading twice. The operating system line names Android 13 and 14 as available and Android 16 as the final supported version, but that last statement comes from a distributor, and the TC22R is absent from Zebra’s official table of supported Android versions. We mark that rather than smoothing it over. If a guaranteed support period matters to your investment case, have the distributor confirm it in writing before you order, because a security-update horizon is the single figure that decides how long a device of this class stays usable.
Stocktaking in a fashion shop: the arithmetic for 4,000 pieces
Work it through: 4,000 pieces across 120 square metres of sales floor. The pure read time at 1,300 tags per second is about three seconds and therefore meaningless. The bottleneck is walking the floor and reaching stacked goods and the upper shelves. Realistically we allow one to two hours, and that is our own projection rather than a manufacturer figure.
The mistake in almost every RFID presentation is that the read rate is used as a selling argument. It is not one. Work with this instead.
| Step in the calculation | Figure | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Pure read time at the laboratory rate | around 3 seconds | 4,000 pieces divided by 1,300 tags/s (manufacturer figure) |
| Capture time at the practical rate | around 6 minutes | 4,000 pieces at roughly 700 pieces per minute in a shop (manufacturer figure for handhelds) |
| Walking the sales floor alone | around 2 to 4 minutes | 120 m² in lanes of roughly 2 m working width give about 60 running metres, at 0.3 to 0.5 m/s walking speed |
| Stacked goods, upper shelves, fitting rooms, window, stockroom | 30 to 60 minutes | our own estimate: lifting goods, restacking, reading targeted gaps |
| Reading the gaps again and reconciling | 20 to 40 minutes | our own estimate: second pass, search mode for single pieces, exceptions list |
| Realistic total | 1 to 2 hours | our own projection, no manufacturer figure |
Read the table from the bottom up and the message appears: between the pure read time of three seconds and the real duration of one to two hours lie three orders of magnitude. That time sits entirely in the handling, in the walking, the lifting and the reading again. A device that reads twice as fast shortens a count by exactly nothing. A device with twice the range does shorten it, because it lets you reach stacks and upper shelves without touching the goods. That is the reason the range question above matters and the read rate does not.
Where the time in a fashion shop really goes
Hanging goods on rails are the easy part. The labels hang free, the spacing is even, the goods are at chest height. A rail with 200 pieces is done in passing. It gets difficult at four places.
- Stacked goods on tables and in pigeonholes. Jumpers in stacks of ten to fifteen shade each other. The only thing that helps is sweeping the stack from the side and from above, or restacking it once.
- Upper shelves and shoeboxes above head height. With three metres of range you reach them from the floor, provided the label does not face the back wall.
- Proximity to metal. Goods lying directly against a metal frame or an article-surveillance gate are read unreliably. What our page on labels says about placement applies here one to one.
- Fitting rooms, the window, the alterations basket and reservations. These are the classic sources of discrepancies, not because RFID fails but because the goods there were simply never counted.
Is the one-to-two-hour stocktake realistic?
Yes, for a shop of this size. But the figure belongs properly labelled: the one to two hours are our own projection, derived from the floor area, the number of pieces and the time structure described above. It appears in no datasheet. What Zebra evidences is 1,300 tags per second and a nominal range; everything beyond that is experience and arithmetic.
Two conditions have to hold. First, the stock has to be tagged completely. A piece without a label is not found, not even by a very good reader. For tagging an existing stock we work with 200 to 300 pieces per person per hour, so 4,000 pieces come to roughly two working days for two people, once. Second, the labels have to be sensibly placed, which means not lying flat between metal and goods. How that works in detail is set out under RFID stocktaking, and if you want a structure for the day itself our stocktake template sets out the sheets and the sequence.
The comparison with previous practice makes the difference plain. Counting by hand with a tally sheet, or a barcode stocktake scanning every item singly, ties up a whole weekend and several people in a shop of this size. That is why it is done once a year. A count that takes two hours can be done monthly, and precisely from that comes the effect on stock accuracy: without RFID, stock records in fashion retail typically sit at 65 to 75 per cent accuracy, with regular RFID counting at 93 to 99 per cent, and the sales effect is put at up to 5.5 per cent. Those figures come from a study by Beck from 2018 for the ECR Shrinkage & On-Shelf Availability Group and GS1 UK, not from us and not from a hardware manufacturer. The wider organisation of a count is covered under retail stocktaking.
What can overturn the calculation
Staying honest means naming the disruptions. Untagged legacy stock is the largest, and it is the one that turns a two-hour exercise into a two-day project the first time round. Second, labels directly on metal or close to liquids. Third, densely stacked goods, where the inner pieces are shielded by the outer ones. Fourth, trading while you count: if customers move goods during the count, differences arise that nobody can resolve afterwards. And fifth, specific to this device, a wireless network that does not reach the stockroom, which is dealt with in the next section.
What the Zebra TC22R is not good for
- One device, one battery, one charging cradle — no adapter question and no second charging place
- 569 g against roughly 777 g for a TC22 with an RFD40 sled
- Up to 1,300 tags per second: the read rate is never the bottleneck in fashion retail
- IP65 and repeated 1.5 m drops onto concrete — more rugged than the sled combination at IP54
- An SE4710 imager, NFC and a 16 MP camera in the same housing, so marrying labels to the barcode needs no second device
- 569 g hang on the hand all through a counting day; you notice it from the second hour
- The pistol-grip form factor is unhandy at the till, and it was never meant for that
- 6 GB RAM and 64 GB flash are thin for a device in this price class
- Bluetooth 5.2 rather than 5.3, and no mobile network: outside your own Wi-Fi the device is offline
- Market launch only in October 2025, so there is little published long-term experience yet
- The nominal range contradicts itself between Zebra’s own datasheets
The most important point stands at the top of the right-hand column: 569 grams. That sounds like little, and against the sled combination at roughly 777 grams it is little. But you do not hold a handheld resting; you hold it out in front of you, often with a bent arm, and you sweep it. After an hour and a half that is noticeable. If two of you are counting, take turns. If you work alone, plan breaks rather than having your arm dictate them later.
Wrong at the till
For the till this is the wrong device. The pistol-grip form factor is optimised for hours of aiming and triggering, not for the quick reach across the sales counter. Anyone wanting to use RFID in the selling process as well, putting the goods into a bowl, having every piece captured at once and the security label deactivated in the same step, needs a presentation scanner for it. The Zebra DS9908R is exactly that counterpart, with a deliberately short range of around 45 centimetres so that the next customer’s goods are not read in as well. The TC22R stays the device for stocktaking, goods-in, transfers and searching for a single piece.
No mobile network
The TC22R has Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2, but no WWAN. Inside your shop that is no problem, as long as the wireless network carries into the last corner of the stockroom, which in an older building with thick walls is by no means a given. Check the coverage before you order the device. For work away from the shop, such as a count in a rented interim store with no network, you need an application that buffers offline and synchronises later. This is the one point where a sled with its own radio, or a phone-based solution, has a structural advantage.
Serviceable rather than generous
The specification is serviceable, not generous. Bluetooth 5.2 rather than 5.3 is without consequence in daily use. 6 GB RAM and 64 GB flash potentially are not, if the device is meant to run for a long time. And Zebra’s official Android version table does not currently list the TC22R, so the claim that Android 16 is the final supported version comes from distributor sources and is not officially verifiable. If a guaranteed support period matters to you, have it confirmed in writing by the distributor.
The range figure stays the sore point
And the range statement remains the weak spot. Not because the device reads badly, it reads well. But because a manufacturer whose own datasheets diverge by a factor of two makes it hard for you to plan seriously. Treat 12.2 m as the upper bound and 2 to 5 m as the working figure, and you will not be surprised. Anyone who needs a firm number for a business case should get it in writing for the SKU being delivered.
Not the cheaper route when the hardware is already there
The last limit is commercial rather than technical. At 1,295 euro net the TC22R is a complete working position, and against a bare sled at 839 euro net it looks expensive. As soon as a mobile computer has to be bought for that sled the comparison turns round, but the reverse case is just as real: if compatible Zebra mobile computers are already in the building, the sled adds only the RFID part and the integrated device is then the more expensive way to the same result. Which of those two situations you are in decides this purchase, and it is worth settling before you compare device prices at all.
What the TC22R costs
The EU distributor MicroNordic lists the EU SKU of the TC22R at around 1,295 euro net, including two years of manufacturer warranty, as at 08/2026. The US dealer Atlas RFID states 1,490 USD against a list price of 2,068.85 USD. We expressly do not convert the US price into euro: the exchange rate, customs, import taxes and the handling of warranty claims make it no comparable European price.
| Version | Price | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| TC22R, EU SKU (-E8), including two years of manufacturer warranty | around 1,295 € net | MicroNordic, as at 08/2026 |
| TC22R, US build, dealer price | 1,490 USD | Atlas RFID Store, as at 08/2026 — may not be operated in Europe |
| TC22R, US list price | 2,068.85 USD | Atlas RFID Store, as at 08/2026 |
Net list prices, sources named in each row, as at 08/2026. All prices are net, excluding VAT. Business buyers in another EU country with a valid VAT identification number are invoiced under the reverse-charge procedure and account for the tax in their own country. List prices are snapshots; project prices through a specialist dealer are frequently lower. Availability, lead time and the concrete SKU configuration are to be settled with the distributor before ordering. US prices serve orientation only and are not converted. HANGCOUNT does not sell this device at the dealer prices named.
Why the US price is not converted
The figures of 1,490 USD and 2,068.85 USD are here so that you can see how the market prices this device, not so that you can turn them into a European price. The exchange rate moves, and customs, import taxes, the warranty route and the distribution structure all differ. A conversion would suggest a European price that does not exist in that form, and it would also quietly compare two different products, because the US build is a device you may not operate here at all. For Europe the figure in the first row of the table applies.
What comes alongside the device
The device price is rarely the whole price. Calculate with these items.
- RFID labels. In small quantities figure on roughly 12 to 15 cents apiece. For 4,000 pieces of initial tagging that is around 480 to 600 euro; after that they arise only as new goods come in. Details under RFID labels.
- A charging cradle. One device needs a fixed charging place, or on the morning of the count it is lying flat in the office. A single-slot charging station belongs firmly in the calculation.
- A spare battery. The 7,000 mAh battery is replaceable. A second one costs little against the annoyance of having to break off a count after ninety minutes.
- An RFID printer. If you want to tag your own goods, and in fashion retail that is the normal case, you need a printer that prints the label and writes the chip in one pass. See RFID printers.
- Software. A reader without stock software delivers a list of numbers. Only the software turns that into a stock figure, a comparison against the till system and an exceptions list.
- Setup and handover. Configuring the device, joining it to the wireless network, settling the label layout, briefing the staff. For the handover itself we allow around half an hour; the operation is simple.
Put that together and a complete first installation for a shop of this size sits well above the device price alone. That is not an argument against the TC22R; it is the argument for comparing complete working positions rather than device line items when you put two quotations side by side.
Charging, holding, managing
The TC22R uses a replaceable 7,000 mAh battery with a quick-release catch. For the TC2x family Zebra offers single-slot and multi-slot charging stations as well as separate battery chargers. Which of them take the divergent pistol-grip shape of the TC22R is not stated in the spec sheet and is to be settled with the distributor before you order.
The accessories part is the place where we can evidence least, and we would rather say so than paper over it. The spec sheet of the TC2xR series carries no accessory list. What is documented is that the accessories of the TC2x family, charging stations and batteries for the TC22 and the TC27, are largely compatible with one another; that appears in the documents for the successor model TC201. Whether the same cradles take a TC22R with its pistol grip is thereby not verified. Settle it with one line in the enquiry to the distributor before you order.
What you realistically need
- One charging station per device, wired in at a place where the device automatically ends up after closing time.
- A second battery, if you run longer counts in one go or serve several locations with one device.
- A hand strap or a holster, so that the device is not put down between two rails and then forgotten.
- A screen protector, if the device is also used in the stockroom. IP65 protects against dust and water jets, not against a scratch from a carton knife.
A practical note on charging. The advantage of an integrated device is that there is exactly one thing to charge, and the discipline that follows from it is worth more than any accessory: a single cradle in a fixed place, and the device goes into it every evening. The most common disruption on a counting day is not a technical defect but a device that spent the night on a desk instead of on its cradle.
Software tools
Zebra maintains its own tool chain for its RFID devices: 123RFID Desktop for configuration and first read tests, an RFID SDK for connecting your own applications, plus device management through StageNow and third-party solutions such as SOTI Connect. These tools are documented for Zebra’s RFID portfolio; which of them are released in which version for the TC22R is not stated in the spec sheet and is to be asked of the distributor.
For running a shop that is rarely the relevant level anyway. You do not need SDK knowledge. You need an application that keeps the stock, marries the labels to the existing barcode and hands the result to your till system as CSV or Excel. What that sequence looks like is described under RFID stocktaking.
When another device fits better
For a single fashion shop the TC22R is the most obvious choice, because it avoids the two-device logic. Anyone who already owns compatible mobile computers is cheaper off with an RFD40 sled. For the till the DS9908R is the right form factor. Devices with roughly a metre of range are made for single articles, not for a full stocktake.
| Device | Form factor | Range per the maker | Tags/s | Weight | Net price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zebra TC22R | integrated handheld | 12.2 m or 24.4 m by source | up to 1,300 | 569 g | 1,295 € |
| Zebra RFD40 | sled, needs a host | roughly 6 m | 1,300+ | 541–556 g plus the host, together around 777 g | from 839 € |
| Zebra DS9908R | till scanner, corded | roughly 45.7 cm | not specified | 420 g | no European list price published |
| Zebra TC201 | mobile computer, RFID optional | roughly 1.2 m | 200+ | 245 g | 649–881 € |
| Zebra EM45 RFID | smartphone form factor | roughly 1.2 m | 20 | 243–250 g | no European list price published |
| Chainway R6 | sled for a phone you already own | 28–31 m | 1,000+ | 195 g without the phone | 659 € |
| Chainway C72 | handheld with a pistol grip | 26–30 m | 1,300 | 610 g | 942 € |
| Chainway C5 | handheld, 6-inch display | 30–33 m | 1,300 | 640 g | 992 € |
| MEFERI ME87 | handheld, RFID in the processor | roughly 2 m | 200 | 290 g | not published |
Net prices, sources: MicroNordic (TC22R), ico.de (RFD40), AutoID Warehouse (TC201), all as at 08/2026; kaufid.de and shopid.eu for the three Chainway devices, retrieved 31.08.2026. For the EM45 RFID, the DS9908R and the MEFERI ME87 no European list price is published; details are on the individual device pages. All prices are net, excluding VAT, and EU business buyers with a valid VAT identification number are invoiced under the reverse-charge procedure. Ranges are manufacturer figures from open-field measurements; in a shop the usable distances lie markedly below them.
Our honest recommendation
If you have one shop and do not yet own suitable hardware, take the TC22R. One device, one battery, one charging cradle, no adapter. That saves more nerves in daily use than the two hundred grams of weight difference would suggest.
If on the other hand you already have Zebra mobile computers in the building that suit the RFD40, the sled is cheaper, because you buy only the RFID part. The Standard sled starts at around 839 euro net. The price for that is the two-component logic with two batteries and two charging places, plus the weaker IP54 protection rating and one adapter per host model.
If your main interest is at the till rather than in the stocktake, the DS9908R is the right device: roughly 45 centimetres of range, deliberately short so that neighbouring goods are not read in as well, plus barcode and optional deactivation of electronic article surveillance in the same housing. And if you only occasionally search for a single piece or run a spot check at goods-in, a device with a short range is enough. For a full stocktake it is not, and we say that plainly. An overview of every device is in the hardware section.
The devices with roughly a metre of range
The EM45 RFID in a smartphone format is unsuitable for a full stocktake at roughly 1.2 metres and 20 tags per second. The read rate is not the problem; the range is, because you have to walk up to every piece. As a device for single-article checking, price marking and spot checks at goods-in it has its place.
The TC201 is the most interesting future platform in this section, with Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6.0 and IP65 plus IP68. Its RFID variant is designed for near-field capture at roughly 1.2 metres and 200+ tags per second, and in Europe it is announced only for the end of 2026. For a project meant to run this year it is not an option, and its RFID figures come from distributor sources rather than from a Zebra datasheet.
Outside the Zebra portfolio
The Chainway C72 at 942 euro net and the Chainway C5 at 992 euro net are the direct competitors in this form factor: integrated handhelds with a pistol grip, IP65 and manufacturer ranges well above those of the TC22R. Read those figures with care. They are open-field values measured with large anti-metal tags, and the ratio between a catalogue figure and what happens in a shop is roughly the same whichever manufacturer states it. The Chainway R6 at 659 euro net takes the other route again and clamps a phone you already own into a sled.
The useful difference is elsewhere. Zebra sets its radio standards out in its own documents and has a broad European distribution channel with a documented warranty route, which for a single shop matters more than a larger number in a datasheet. What speaks for the Chainway devices is the price, and on the C72 and the C5 a lower one for a comparable form factor. What speaks against them, on our reading of their datasheets, is set out on their own pages rather than summarised here.
The MEFERI ME87 is technically the most interesting approach: the UHF engine sits in the processor rather than in an add-on module. At roughly 2 metres of range and IP68 it would be usable for many tasks. For Europe there is currently neither a visible distribution channel nor a published price. Watch it, do not buy it.
Our recommendation in one line
In one line: one shop, one device, nothing there yet: the TC22R. Existing Zebra mobile computers, or several members of staff sharing one RFID module: the RFD40 Standard. A suitable phone already there and a tight budget: the Chainway R6. A till position alongside: the DS9908R. Everything else in this section is currently either too short in range or not obtainable in Europe.
Radio approval: what applies in Europe
UHF RFID in Europe runs in the 865 to 868 MHz band, harmonised across the EU and the EEA through CEPT recommendation ERC/REC 70-03 and the harmonised standard ETSI EN 302 208, which permits up to 2 W ERP. No individual licence, no registration and no spectrum fee is required. The TC22R transmits at up to 31.45 dBm ERP in its European build, roughly 1.4 W, so it stays inside the limit. A build for 902 to 928 MHz may not be operated here.
The European frame
UHF RFID readers in Europe operate in the band from 865 to 868 MHz. That band is harmonised across the European Union and the European Economic Area through CEPT recommendation ERC/REC 70-03 on short range devices, and the technical basis is the harmonised standard ETSI EN 302 208 in its version V3.4.1 of December 2023, which permits up to 2 watt ERP for interrogators in this band. A further band from 915 to 921 MHz with up to 4 watt ERP is available in addition; which parts of it are released nationally differs between member states.
Because the band is harmonised, the same device is lawful in every EU and EEA country. What differs is the national regulator that administers the general authorisation: the Bundesnetzagentur in Germany, ARCEP in France, UKE in Poland, RDI in the Netherlands, and so on for the other member states. The list is longer than that and there is no point reproducing it here; the point is that the frame is common and only the administering authority changes.
For normal operation within that general authorisation, no individual licence and no registration is needed, and no spectrum fee is payable. You buy the device, you switch it on, and you keep the conformity papers. Responsibility for operating within the frame sits with the operator, that is with your business, not with the dealer.
The United Kingdom sits outside this. Since leaving the EU it applies its own rules, with Ofcom Interface Requirement IR 2030 for licence-exempt short range devices and UKCA marking in place of CE; if you are buying for a UK site, check the current position with your supplier rather than relying on the European frame described here.
A frequent misunderstanding concerns the comparison with the United States, where 4 watt EIRP applies. Because ERP and EIRP differ by 2.15 dB, 2 watt ERP corresponds to roughly 3.3 watt EIRP. The American limit is therefore only about 20 per cent above the European one, not double, as is occasionally written. That conversion is our own.
What Zebra documents, and why that is worth saying
On this page we can be more definite than on some others in this section, and the difference is worth naming. Zebra sets out the European band in the spec sheet, 865 to 868 MHz at 1.45 to 31.45 dBm ERP, and names ETSI EN 302 208 in its own documents. That is not a given at this price level. It means you can read the standard the device was built against instead of inferring it, you can quote it in a tender, and if the question is ever asked you have a manufacturer statement rather than a dealer assurance.
Ask for the EU declaration of conformity anyway and file it with the device papers, because that is the document that lists the standards applied, and anyone passing devices on commercially needs it in any case. But with this manufacturer you are confirming something already documented rather than discovering it. Note also that the European build transmits at up to 31.45 dBm ERP, roughly 1.4 watt, and therefore stays below the 2 watt the standard allows.
What CE means and what it does not
The CE marking is the manufacturer’s declaration, or that of the responsible economic operator, that the device meets the applicable EU rules, in the case of radio devices above all the Radio Equipment Directive. It is not an official test and not a quality seal. For you as the operator it is nonetheless the decisive basis, because without it the device may not be placed on the EU market. The accompanying paper is the EU declaration of conformity, and it is the document in which the reference to EN 302 208 appears.
The awkward part: builds for other regions
A TC22R in the US build transmits in the band from 902 to 928 MHz. That band is allocated differently in Europe, among other things to mobile network services. Such a device may not be operated here, regardless of the fact that it looks identical, runs the same software and appears cheaper in an online shop. Importing a US device saves a few per cent at best and buys you a legal problem together with a broken warranty route.
So pay attention to the SKU. -E8 and -WR stand for the European and the worldwide build, -US and -FT for the United States and Canada. The price of around 1,295 euro net at MicroNordic refers expressly to the EU SKU with two years of manufacturer warranty. Have the distributor confirm in writing that the device delivered is configured for 865 to 868 MHz and approved for operation in your country. That one line in the order confirmation saves a great deal of trouble in case of doubt, and it is worth particular care with marketplace listings and grey imports, where stock built for North America is regularly sold with no note at all.
The basics of frequencies, power limits and the difference between ERP and EIRP are set out at greater length in the overview article RFID explained, and what part the antenna plays is covered under RFID antennas.
This section summarises the position as at 26.08.2026 and is no substitute for legal advice. Particular installations, such as fixed doorway antennas at high transmit power, carry additional requirements, and national rules on siting can apply.
Frequently asked questions about the Zebra TC22R
How far does the Zebra TC22R actually read?
Zebra states two different figures for the same device. The European spec sheet says "Nominal RFID Read Range (Integrated Antenna): 80 ft. / 24.4 m". The US spec sheet of the same model says 40 ft. / 12.2 m. Both are nominal open-field values from a laboratory. In a fashion shop, between textiles, steel rails and stacked goods, 2 to 5 metres is the order of magnitude you should plan with. That working figure is our own estimate and no manufacturer statement.
Why does Zebra state two different ranges?
The cause is not publicly documented. The obvious explanation is the different transmit power permitted in the two regions: up to 34 dBm EIRP in the United States against up to 31.45 dBm ERP in Europe. That does not carry, because 2 W ERP corresponds to roughly 3.3 W EIRP, and a difference that small does not double a read range. We therefore mark the figure as contradictory and work with the conservative value of 12.2 m.
How long does a stocktake of 4,000 pieces take with a TC22R?
The pure read time at 1,300 tags per second works out at about three seconds and is therefore meaningless. What counts is walking the floor and reaching stacked goods and the upper shelves. For 4,000 pieces across 120 square metres we allow one to two hours including the second pass and the reconciliation. That span is our own projection and no Zebra measurement.
What does the Zebra TC22R cost?
The EU distributor MicroNordic lists the EU SKU at around 1,295 euro net with two years of manufacturer warranty, as at 08/2026. The US dealer Atlas RFID states 1,490 USD against a list price of 2,068.85 USD. We expressly do not convert the US price into euro. All prices on this page are net, excluding VAT; business buyers in another EU country with a valid VAT identification number are invoiced under the reverse-charge procedure.
May I operate a North American TC22R in Europe?
No. The North American build works in the band from 902 to 928 MHz, which is allocated differently in Europe. Operating it here would be an unlawful use of spectrum, whether or not the device works technically. In Europe the band runs from 865 to 868 MHz at up to 2 W ERP under the harmonised standard ETSI EN 302 208. Order the European build, region code -E8, and have that written into the order confirmation.
Do I have to register the device with a regulator?
No. UHF RFID in the 865 to 868 MHz band runs under a general authorisation throughout the EU and the EEA. Anyone operating a conforming device inside the allocated band and within the power limit needs no individual licence, no frequency assignment and no registration, and pays no spectrum fee. The United Kingdom sits outside this frame and applies its own rules through Ofcom.
Is the TC22R worth it against a sled on a mobile computer?
For a single shop usually yes. The TC22R weighs 569 g, the combination of a TC22 and an RFD40 sled around 777 g. More important than the weight is the simplicity: one device, one battery, one charging cradle, no adapter matching. Anyone who already runs a fleet of compatible mobile computers is often cheaper off with sleds, because only the RFID part has to be bought.
Can I work at the till with the TC22R?
Technically yes, in practice awkwardly. The pistol-grip form factor is built for hours of counting, not for the quick reach across the sales counter. For RFID in the selling process a presentation scanner such as the Zebra DS9908R is the better shape. The TC22R stays the device for stocktaking, goods-in, transfers and searching for a single piece.
Want to tag your own stock?
HANGCOUNT provides RFID stock control for fashion shops, boutiques and sports retailers: software from 99 euro per month per location, plus 2,900 euro once for the hardware, an RFID printer and a handheld, delivered configured and with a handover. Labels are charged as used, at around 12 cents apiece. All prices net.
Read on
Sources and the date of the figures
Every datasheet figure on this page is a manufacturer statement. Where we have calculated, estimated or placed something, the text says so. Where a figure is missing, uncertain or contradictory, the text says that too. All online sources for the Zebra devices were retrieved on 26.08.2026; the Chainway comparison prices on 31.08.2026.
- Zebra Technologies, spec sheet “TC2xR Series” (GB edition, the one that applies to the EU): zebra.com (GB), retrieved 26.08.2026. The source of “Nominal RFID Read Range (Integrated Antenna): 80 ft. / 24.4 m”, of “up to 1,300 tags/sec”, of the EU band 865 to 868 MHz at 1.45 to 31.45 dBm ERP, of EPC Class 1 Gen 2 and Gen 2 V2, of the 7,000 mAh battery, of 569 g, of IP65, of the SE4710 imager, of Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2, of 6 GB and 64 GB, of the Qualcomm 5430 hexa-core at 2.1 GHz, of the 6.0 inch FHD+ display at 450 nits, of the operating range from -10 to +50 °C with storage from -40 to +70 °C, and of the 500 tumble cycles from 0.5 m.
- Zebra Technologies, spec sheet “TC2xR Series” (US edition): zebra.com (US), retrieved 26.08.2026. States for the same device: “Nominal RFID Read Range (Integrated Antenna): 40 ft. / 12.2 m”. The contradiction with the GB edition was reproducible on both retrievals on the same day.
- Zebra Technologies, product page “TC2xR Series RFID Handhelds”: zebra.com (GB), retrieved 26.08.2026.
- MicroNordic, EU distributor, price and warranty for the EU SKU of the TC22R: around 1,295 euro net with two years of manufacturer warranty, as at 08/2026. micronordic.com, retrieved 26.08.2026. All prices quoted on this page are net, excluding VAT.
- Atlas RFID Store, US dealer price for the TC22R: 1,490 USD against a list price of 2,068.85 USD, as at 08/2026. atlasrfidstore.com, retrieved 26.08.2026. Quoted in US dollars for orientation only and expressly not converted into euro.
- WIoT Group, market report on the introduction of the TC22R in October 2025 — states the range as 12.2 m. Retrieved 26.08.2026.
- Zebra Technologies, supported Android versions for mobile computers: zebra.com (GB), retrieved 26.08.2026. The TC22R is not listed in that table, which is why the statement that Android 16 is the final supported version is marked here as a distributor claim rather than a manufacturer one.
- ETSI EN 302 208 V3.4.1 (2023-12), radio equipment for identification in the bands 865–868 MHz with up to 2 W ERP and 915–921 MHz with up to 4 W ERP: etsi.org (PDF), retrieved 26.08.2026. Zebra names this standard in its own documents, which is why this page can cite it as a manufacturer statement and not merely as the legal frame.
- CEPT recommendation ERC/REC 70-03 on the use of short range devices, annex on non-specific short range devices and RFID — the instrument through which the 865–868 MHz band is harmonised across the EU and the EEA. Retrieved 26.08.2026.
- National general authorisations administered by the member states, for example Bundesnetzagentur in Germany, ARCEP in France, UKE in Poland and RDI in the Netherlands. Retrieved 26.08.2026. The basis for the statement that no individual licence and no registration is needed for normal operation.
- Ofcom, Interface Requirement IR 2030 — the United Kingdom regime for licence-exempt short range devices, outside the EU framework since the UK left the Union, with UKCA marking in place of CE. Retrieved 26.08.2026.
- GS1, overview of UHF frequency allocations by country: gs1.org (PDF), retrieved 26.08.2026.
- Price sources for the comparison table: ico.de for the RFD40 from 839 euro net and AutoID Warehouse for the TC201 at 649 to 881 euro net, both as at 08/2026; kaufid.de for the Chainway R6 at 659.10 euro net and the Chainway C5 at 991.50 euro net, shopid.eu for the Chainway C72 at 941.60 euro net, both retrieved 31.08.2026. Both Chainway shops are operated by ITFutuRe s.r.o., Czech Republic. Details and the limits of those figures are on the individual device pages.
- Stock accuracy without RFID 65–75 per cent, with RFID 93–99 per cent, sales effect up to +5.5 per cent: Beck (2018), ECR Shrinkage & On-Shelf Availability Group / GS1 UK.
All figures are as at 26.08.2026. Prices and availability change; check both with the dealer or distributor before ordering. HANGCOUNT has no sales relationship with the dealers named and does not sell the devices described at the prices given.