HomeRFID hardware › Chainway C72

Chainway C72: a lot of range for under a thousand euro

The C72 is an Android handheld with a detachable RFID pistol grip and the current Impinj E710 module. Chainway quotes 26 to 30 metres of range and more than 1,300 tags read per second; the dealer price is 941.60 euro net. That is roughly half of what comparably equipped brand-name devices cost. This page works out how much of that reaches the shop floor, and names the three points where this offer is weaker than its datasheet: the generation question, the warranty and the missing list of standards.

Where it fits

What the C72 is and who it was built for

In short

The Chainway C72 is a rugged Android handheld with a 5.2-inch display, an optional 2D barcode imager and a detachable UHF pistol grip. The current version carries the CM710-1 module based on the Impinj E710 and reads, the maker says, more than 1,300 tags per second. For a full stocktake in fashion retail that is a complete tool. What matters at the point of purchase is that you receive the current version and not the older one.

Chainway is a Chinese maker of mobile data capture devices that has been building UHF RFID handhelds for many years. The C72 is one of the best known models in its range and has correspondingly been on the market a long time. It combines two things that are usually kept apart: a proper Android computer with a decent display, and a UHF reader with an antenna large enough for real range.

The trick is the detachable grip. Sold as TRG-C72-PG, it carries the UHF antenna, the trigger and part of the electronics. With the grip on, the C72 is a gun-shaped counting tool; with the grip off, it is a 375 gram handheld for goods-in, price enquiries and conversations with customers. If you want to know where it sits between a clip-on sled and a fully integrated device: exactly in the middle. Grip and device belong together and come from the same maker, so there is no adapter and no compatibility question — but you can take the grip off when you do not need it.

At a glance
Form factor
Android handheld with detachable UHF pistol grip (TRG-C72-PG)
UHF module
CM710-1 based on the Impinj E710 (older generation: Indy R2000)
Read range
26–30 m open field, manufacturer figure · Impinj itself: more than 15 m
Read rate
1,300+ tags per second, manufacturer figure
EU frequency
865–868 MHz as a hardware variant · 1 W (30 dBm), +5 to +30 dBm
Display
5.2-inch IPS LTPS, 1920 × 1080, glove and wet operation
Battery
8,000 mAh, more than 12 h continuous · swappable: not documented
Weight
375 g device · 673 g with the UHF grip
Protection
IP65 · at least 20 drops from 1.5 m onto concrete · 1,000 × 0.5 m tumble
Price
941.60 € net for C72-A13-2U (shopid.eu, as at 31.08.2026)

Two device generations are on the market at the same time

This is the single most important procurement note on this page, which is why it sits so near the top. The C72 exists in two technically quite different versions that are sold under the same model name.

ItemOlder versionCurrent version
UHF moduleImpinj Indy R2000CM710-1 (Impinj E710)
Range per the makeraround 15 m26–30 m
Read rate900+ tags/s1,300+ tags/s
How to spot itdesignations such as C72-V3/CM710 at dealersthe module reference CM710-1 in the order confirmation
Observed dealer pricearound 909 € net (rfidplaza.com)941.60 € net (shopid.eu)

Prices: shopid.eu and rfidplaza.com, net, as at 31.08.2026. Mapping the dealers' designations onto the two generations is our own reading of public listings and not a manufacturer statement.

The difference is substantial: around 15 metres against 26 to 30 metres of catalogue range, 900 against more than 1,300 tags per second. The problem is not that the older version still exists — it works. The problem is that the prices sit close together and that some dealers show old datasheets against new part numbers. Pay 909 euro for a device that costs 941.60 euro in its current version and you have saved 33 euro and given away half the range.

In one line: before you order, have it confirmed in writing that the device supplied carries the UHF module CM710-1 based on the Impinj E710. With this manufacturer, that one line in the order confirmation matters more than any haggling over price.

Who the device pays off for

The C72 is built for businesses that regularly capture larger quantities of goods and have no budget for a premium brand. In fashion retail that means the annual full stocktake, checking in a season delivery, transfers between two branches and recurring interim counts of single product groups. Range is the deciding factor for all four, because it determines whether you can sweep a round rail from the aisle or have to walk up to every single piece.

The obvious candidate is a business with one or two locations that is starting from nothing and needs exactly one device. Unlike a sled solution, here you buy a single device with a single battery and a single cradle. There is no host computer to procure alongside it and no device-specific adapter that can be missing from the quotation. In a small business that simplicity is worth more than it looks on a datasheet.

What the C72 explicitly is not

It is not stock control software and not a till system. The device hands a list of EPC numbers to the application running on it, and what becomes of them is decided by that software. Nor is it a till scanner: for the selling process at the counter, a handheld with a pistol grip and 673 grams is the wrong shape, and that is what presentation scanners such as the Zebra DS9908R are for. And it prints nothing. The labels are produced beforehand on an RFID printer, which writes text, barcode and chip in one pass.

One more thing it does not do: it does not check whether a number it has read belongs to the right article. That link is created when you marry the RFID label to the existing barcode, and it then lives in your stock file. How that step works in practice is described in our guide to RFID stocktaking. The basics of the technology are covered in the RFID guide and on the page about RFID readers.

RFID performance

Range, read rate and frequencies in detail

In short

Depending on the test tag, Chainway quotes 26, 28 or 30 metres of read range for the C72, plus more than 1,300 tags per second. Those are open-field figures, measured with large labels and without interference. Impinj itself is more cautious about the same device and says more than 15 metres outdoors. In Europe the C72 works as a hardware variant in the 865 to 868 MHz band at 1 watt, adjustable from +5 to +30 dBm.

ItemFigureSource
UHF moduleCM710-1, based on the Impinj E710Chainway product page
Read rate1,300+ tags/s (circular polarisation)Chainway product page
Read rate, older generation900+ tags/sChainway, older version with Indy R2000
Range with Impinj MR6 (70 × 15 mm)26 mChainway product page, open field
Range with Impinj M750 (70 × 15 mm)28 mChainway product page, open field
Range with Alien H3 anti-metal (130 × 42 mm)30 mChainway product page, open field
Range according to Impinjmore than 15 m outdoorsimpinj.com, partner page on the C72
Realistic range in a shoparound 4–10 mour own estimate, not a manufacturer figure
Frequency Europe865–868 MHzChainway product page, hardware variant
Frequency North America / other902–928 MHz · 920–925 MHzChainway product page
Transmit power1 W (30 dBm), adjustable +5 to +30 dBmChainway product page
Transmit power option2 W (33 dBm) — not for EuropeChainway product page
ERP or EIRP?not statedour own check: Chainway does not say whether conducted or radiated power is meant
ProtocolsEPC C1 Gen2 / ISO 18000-6C, GS1 Gen2v2 Authenticate, ISO/IEC 29167-11, Impinj Gen2XChainway product page

What those range figures mean, and what they do not

The three range figures in the table differ not because the device transmits at different power levels, but because different labels were tested. Chainway reaches 30 metres with an Alien H3 anti-metal tag measuring 130 × 42 millimetres. That is an industrial label the size of half a postcard, with an antenna area to match. A hangtag on a garment is a fraction of it.

Then there is the measuring environment. On a sister model Chainway writes explicitly that ranges are measured outdoors in a low-interference environment. A fashion shop is the exact opposite: steel round rails, stock in several layers, labels wedged between two stacks of jeans, mirrors, fitting rooms, customers in the way. Water absorbs the radio energy, metal reflects it, dense stacks of textiles attenuate it.

Our rule of thumb, expressly not a manufacturer figure: in a shop, reckon on a third to a quarter of the catalogue value. That turns 26 to 30 metres into roughly 6.5 to 10 metres. Take instead the more conservative figure from Impinj of more than 15 metres, and the same arithmetic lands at 4 to 5 metres. We therefore plan with a range of 4 to 10 metres and calculate stocktake times from the lower end. Anyone arguing 30 metres in a sales conversation is manufacturing disappointment.

In practice the absolute number matters less than the question of whether you have to walk up to every piece. Beyond roughly two metres of usable distance you no longer do: a round rail is captured from the aisle as you pass, a wall bay in a single sweep. At four to ten metres the C72 is comfortably above that threshold. That is precisely the difference from devices in phone format, where every item of stock becomes its own working step.

Read rate: the figure that is rarely the bottleneck

1,300 tags per second sounds like a lot. For your planning the number is nonetheless less important than it looks. Do the sum: 4,000 pieces divided by 1,300 tags per second is just over three seconds of pure read time. No fashion shop will ever be held up by the read rate of its handheld.

The high rate matters for a different reason. EPC Gen2 works with slotted anti-collision: the labels do not answer at once but one after another, in randomly chosen time slots. The more tags stand in the field at the same time, the more collisions and the more repeat rounds. A high rate means the reader plays through those rounds quickly, so even a densely packed rail is captured completely in a single sweep instead of individual pieces slipping through. The rate buys you completeness, not speed. And that is exactly why the difference between 900 and 1,300 tags per second across the two device generations matters more than it sounds.

Transmit power: an open question in the datasheet

Chainway states 1 watt, or 30 dBm, adjustable from +5 to +30 dBm, and names an optional 2 watt version at 33 dBm that is expressly not intended for Europe. What Chainway does not say is whether those dBm figures are conducted at the antenna port or are to be read as radiated power, that is as ERP or EIRP. This is not an academic distinction. The European limit is 2 watt ERP, which corresponds to roughly 3.3 watt EIRP, and without the reference quantity the margin to the limit cannot be worked out cleanly.

We name that as a gap rather than smoothing it over. One indication: in the manual of the sister model C66, Chainway gives a single European figure of 23.58 dBm e.r.p. That is well below the limit. Whether the same figure applies to the C72 is not documented. If you need the transmit power for a tender or for site planning, have it confirmed in writing by your supplier.

Protocols

The protocol list is complete and current: EPC Class 1 Gen2, that is ISO 18000-6C, as the base, plus GS1 Gen2v2 Authenticate, ISO/IEC 29167-11 and Impinj Gen2X. The last two are extensions for authentication and for higher throughput with Impinj chips. For fashion retail the first line is what counts: ordinary UHF hangtags with chips from Impinj or NXP are Gen2 labels and will be read. Which formats suit clothing, footwear and accessories is set out on our page about RFID labels.

Specification

The full technical specification

In short

The C72 brings a 5.2-inch display with 1920 by 1080 pixels, an octa-core at 2.3 GHz, 4 GB of RAM and 128 GB of flash, plus Android 11 or 13 with Google Mobile Services. It is rated IP65 and survives at least 20 drops from 1.5 metres onto concrete. Chainway leaves two items open: the camera, and whether the battery can be swapped.

ItemFigure
Form factorAndroid handheld with a detachable UHF pistol grip, part TRG-C72-PG
Display5.2-inch IPS LTPS, 1920 × 1080 pixels, multitouch, operable with gloves and in the wet
Processorocta-core, 2.3 GHz. Chainway does not name a specific part on the product page
Memory4 GB RAM and 128 GB flash, optionally 4 GB and 64 GB, expandable by microSD
Operating systemAndroid 11 or 13 with Google Mobile Services, security updates on a 90-day cycle, support for Soti MobiControl and SafeUEM
Scan engineoptional, 2D: Zebra SE4710, SE4750SR, SE4750MR or SE4750DP, Honeywell N6603, Chainway CM60; 1D laser: Honeywell N4313
Cameranot listed in the specification table — not documented
NFC13.56 MHz, optional
RadioWLAN 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac on 2.4 and 5 GHz, Bluetooth 5.0, LTE optional with the bands that matter in Europe, B3, B7, B8 and B20, GPS with AGPS, GLONASS and BeiDou. No 5G
Battery8,000 mAh lithium-ion, standby over 500 hours, continuous operation over 12 hours, charging time 3 to 4 hours. Whether the battery can be swapped: not documented
Dimensions166.2 × 81.1 × 24.1 mm · with grip 177 × 88.6 × 145.8 mm
Weight375 g without grip · 673 g with the UHF grip
Protection ratingIP65
Drop and tumblerepeated 1.5 m onto concrete, at least 20 times, across the whole operating temperature range; 1,000 tumble cycles from 0.5 m
Temperatureoperating -20 °C to +50 °C · storage -40 °C to +70 °C · 5 to 95 % RH, non-condensing
ConnectorsmicroSD slot present. Chainway gives no detail on the charging port or the contact strip on the product page — not documented

All figures are manufacturer statements from the Chainway product page for the C72, retrieved 31.08.2026. Where the table says “not documented”, we found the figure neither on the product page nor in the specification table; we record the gap rather than fill it.

What stands out in this table

Three points are worth noting, two of them good, one not.

Good, first: at 1920 by 1080 pixels across 5.2 inches, the display is better resolved than on many devices in this price class, and operation with gloves and in the wet is explicitly provided for. For a shop where winter deliveries are checked in the yard with cold fingers, that is not a luxury.

Good, second: Chainway states security updates on a 90-day cycle and support for Soti MobiControl and SafeUEM. Those are marks of professional device management that you do not take for granted under a thousand euro. Anyone running several devices across several sites needs exactly that.

Not good: the camera is missing from the specification table altogether, and on the battery it does not say whether it can be swapped. Both are items other manufacturers settle in a single line. On the sister model C66 Chainway writes “removable” explicitly; on the C72 it does not. We do not treat that as proof that the battery is sealed in, but we do treat it as a reason to ask before you buy. Why it matters for a stocktake is set out under limits.

Ruggedness in context

IP65 means dust tight and protected against jets of water from a nozzle. That is a step above the IP54 of many clip-on sleds and well above the IP42 of a typical till scanner. The drop figure is unusually precisely worded: at least 20 drops from 1.5 metres onto concrete, and across the whole operating temperature range, so including minus 20 degrees. On top of that, 1,000 tumble cycles from half a metre. For use in a shop that is generously dimensioned and not a point you need to worry about.

In practice

Stocktaking in a fashion shop: the arithmetic for 4,000 pieces

In short

For 4,000 tagged pieces across 120 square metres, the pure read time of around three seconds is meaningless. The first pass across the sales floor takes six to ten minutes, depending on how you calculate it. For the complete exercise, with a second pass, the stockroom, the fitting rooms and the reconciliation, we allow one to two hours. That range is our own projection, not a manufacturer figure.

Take a concrete shop: 120 square metres of sales floor, 4,000 pieces in stock, all tagged with an RFID hangtag, plus a small stockroom in the basement and four fitting rooms. One member of staff, one Chainway C72 with the grip fitted, the stock software on the device. We calculate in three stages, because the three numbers mean very different things.

Stage 1: read time

4,000 pieces divided by 1,300 tags per second gives 3.1 seconds. That is the pure time the reader would need if all 4,000 labels stood in the field at once. The figure is here only to make clear that it gives you nothing for your planning. Even the older generation at 900 tags per second would come to 4.4 seconds. No device in this class is limited by its read rate.

Stage 2: walking time

It gets interesting when you walk the floor. We calculate it two independent ways, because that is more honest than a single figure.

Route A, via the walking distance: across 120 square metres with round rails, wall bays and a till counter, a systematic route works out at roughly 150 to 200 metres if you walk every aisle once and take in the wall runs. With a handheld you walk slowly and sweep as you go, say 0.4 metres per second. 180 metres divided by 0.4 gives 450 seconds, that is 7.5 minutes. The assumptions about route length and walking pace are our own and depend heavily on the floor plan.

Route B, via the capture rate: Chainway gives no capture rate in pieces per minute for the C72, so we apply our own working figure: 600 to 700 pieces per minute for a bulk reading handheld in a shop. That figure sits far below the theoretical read rate, because it already contains the walking, the sweeping and the going back over gaps. 4,000 pieces divided by 650 gives 6.2 minutes. That rate is our assumption, not a manufacturer figure.

Both routes land at six to ten minutes for a complete pass across the sales floor. This is where the range pays. At the four to ten metres we realistically plan for, walking the aisle is enough. With a device that reaches a bit over a metre, the same member of staff would have to go up to every rail and work along every shelf run individually, and one pass would become three.

Stage 3: real time

And now the number that counts. A stocktake does not consist of one pass. What actually arises:

  • Preparation: charge the device, open the software, create the count, agree briefly who takes which area. 10 to 15 minutes.
  • First pass across the sales floor: 6 to 10 minutes, per the calculation above.
  • Second pass: stock in the fitting rooms, in the window, behind the till, on the ironing board, at the alterations bench. Those pieces are often missed on the first pass because they are not where you look. 15 to 25 minutes.
  • Stockroom: a small area, but densely packed and often on metal shelving. Range is worth less here, because metal reflects. 15 to 20 minutes.
  • Reconciliation and exceptions list: what was counted, what is missing, what is duplicated. Checking the gaps by hand. 20 to 40 minutes, depending on how clean the opening stock file was.

That comes to 66 to 110 minutes in total. Which is why we talk about one to two hours for a shop of this size. That range is our own projection. It appears in no Chainway datasheet and it is not a promise. It holds under three conditions: the stock is fully tagged, the labels sit where they can be read, and the software reconciles cleanly against the expected stock file.

What can upset the calculation

Staying honest also means naming what goes wrong. Untagged legacy stock is the biggest factor: if you have 4,000 pieces still to tag, reckon on 200 to 300 pieces per person per hour, so 13 to 20 person-hours once, before the first fast stocktake is possible at all. That is exactly the step in which you need the barcode imager, and exactly why the version without one is not an option. Second, labels directly on metal or hard against liquids: an RFID label stuck flat on a metal hanger reads badly. Third, densely stacked goods, where the inner pieces are screened by the outer ones. Fourth, trading while counting: if customers move stock during the count, differences arise that nobody can resolve afterwards.

For comparison, and to show why the effort pays: without RFID, stock accuracy in fashion retail typically sits at 65 to 75 per cent; with RFID at 93 to 99 per cent, and the sales effect is put at up to 5.5 per cent. Those figures come from a 2018 study by Beck for the ECR Shrinkage and On-Shelf Availability Group and GS1 UK, not from us and not from a hardware maker. How such a count runs step by step is described on our page about stocktaking in retail, and there is a ready-made stocktake template to go with it.

Limits

What the C72 is not good for

In short

The C72 is a solid stocktaking device with three visible weaknesses: twelve months of manufacturer warranty, an unanswered question about the battery, and a datasheet with no list of standards. On top of that comes a thin distribution network. For the till the shape is wrong, and anyone looking for a device a member of staff carries on the belt all day does not buy a 673 gram gun.

What speaks for it
  • Impinj E710 in the CM710-1 module: 1,300+ tags per second and 26 to 30 m per the maker
  • IP65 and at least 20 drops from 1.5 m onto concrete across the whole temperature range
  • 8,000 mAh battery with more than twelve hours of continuous use, so it lasts a full day
  • Android 13 with GMS, security updates on a 90-day cycle and support for Soti MobiControl
  • 941.60 euro net with imager and RFID: roughly half of what fully equipped brand-name devices in the same class cost
What speaks against it
  • Only 12 months of manufacturer warranty; the extension to 36 months costs extra
  • Chainway does not say whether the battery is swappable on the C72 — on the C66 it says so explicitly
  • Two device generations in circulation, and old datasheets against new part numbers are common
  • No standard in the datasheet: the Certifications row at Chainway is empty
  • 673 g with the grip, and no dense distribution network across Europe

Twelve months of warranty is too little

This is the clearest disadvantage of the offer and it cannot be talked away. Chainway gives twelve months from delivery. An extension to 36 months can be bought, but it costs extra and belongs expressly in the request for quotation.

The distinction many buyers read past is this: where an EU dealer advertises 24 months, that is the statutory liability for conformity owed by the seller, not a manufacturer warranty. The difference becomes practical the moment the device fails in its second year. Under statutory liability you have to argue with the seller about the cause once the first twelve months are past; under a manufacturer warranty the device simply goes in. On a handheld that is used daily and put down repeatedly, the second year is exactly the year in which the first failures arrive. So price the warranty extension into the device before you compare it with other quotations.

The battery: an open question that matters for a full-day stocktake

Chainway states 8,000 mAh, more than 500 hours of standby, more than twelve hours of continuous operation and three to four hours of charging time. What Chainway does not state for the C72 is whether that battery can be swapped. On the sister model C66, the very same line says “removable” in as many words. That omission is conspicuous enough to be named. For a full-day stocktake it is the wrong place to be silent.

For normal trading it has no consequence: twelve hours of continuous operation covers any working day and the device sits in its cradle overnight. It becomes relevant in two cases. First, on a full-day stocktake across several floors or branches, where a second battery is the difference between working through and a three-hour charging break. Second, after three or four years: a lithium-ion battery loses capacity, and with a sealed-in battery the swap is a service case rather than a flick of the wrist. If you intend to run the device for five years, have the question settled before you order. The Chainway C5 is unambiguous on this point: there the battery is documented as removable, and the pistol grip even carries one of its own at 13,400 mAh.

A datasheet with no list of standards

The “Certifications” row on the Chainway product pages is empty. There is no list of the standards applied, no linked test certificate, no EU declaration of conformity to download from the manufacturer. What is documented is the 865 to 868 MHz frequency variant and the statement in the manual that the device complies with Directive 2014/53/EU. CE and RoHS certificates are available for download from a European distributor, not from the maker itself.

That is not a sign of a problem and not a reason to advise against buying. It is a difference in bearing compared with manufacturers who publish their list of standards openly, and for you it means one extra task: ask your supplier for the EU declaration of conformity and file it with the device papers. More on that under radio approval.

A thin distribution network

Chainway does not sell to end customers, runs no shop of its own and publishes no searchable directory of authorised dealers. There is a B2B distributor in Germany, the official European distributor in the Netherlands, and a handful of shops with open prices. In Austria and Switzerland we found no distributor at all. For buying a device that is no obstacle. For a service case in three years it is a risk you should know about.

Not suitable for till work

A handheld with a pistol grip is the wrong shape at the sales counter. Serving a customer takes one hand for the goods and one for the till system, and a 673 gram package in between gets in the way. For RFID at the till there are presentation scanners that stand hands-free in a cradle and work with deliberately short range, so that the next customer's goods are not read as well. How that works is set out on the page about the Zebra DS9908R.

Not suitable as an all-day device on the belt

Without the grip the C72 weighs 375 grams and is a normal rugged handheld. With the grip it is 673 grams and a shape nobody carries for eight hours. If you want a device for enquiries, taking orders and the occasional look-up, fit the grip for the count and take it off afterwards — that is exactly what it detaches for. If you want no gun shape at all, an RFID handheld in phone format such as the Zebra EM45 RFID suits you better, but you pay for it with considerably less range.

Prices

What the C72 costs and what comes alongside

In short

shopid.eu lists the version with 2D imager and UHF RFID under the code C72-A13-2U at 941.60 euro net, as at 31.08.2026. The version without a barcode imager costs 833.50 euro net but is useless for stock control. Budget on top for labels, a charging solution, a spare battery, the warranty extension, software and setup. All prices net.

VersionPart codeNet price
2D imager + UHF RFID, Android 13C72-A13-2U941.60 €
UHF RFID without barcode, Android 13C72-A13-U833.50 €
2D imager without RFIDC72-A13-2665.00 €
2D imager middle range, without RFIDC72-A13-2MR814.10 €
older generation, EU ETSIC72-V3/CM710around 909 €

All prices are net, excluding VAT, as at 31.08.2026, source shopid.eu (operated by ITFutuRe s.r.o., Czech Republic) and rfidplaza.com for the older generation. Business buyers in another EU country with a valid VAT identification number are invoiced under the reverse-charge procedure and account for the tax in their own country. List prices are snapshots, project prices are frequently lower, and availability, frequency variant and module designation are to be checked with the dealer before ordering.

Why the cheaper version without an imager is no option

A glance at the table suggests an obvious saving: 833.50 euro instead of 941.60 euro, so 108 euro less, for a device that can read RFID and merely lacks a barcode imager. If all you want to do is count, surely you do not need a barcode — so the argument goes.

The argument is wrong, and not slightly. The first working step of every RFID roll-out in fashion retail is marrying up. Your goods already carry a barcode that corresponds, in your till system, to an article, a size and a colour. The RFID label carries a unique number that on its own means nothing. For that number to become an article, the two have to be linked once: scan the barcode, read the RFID label, save the assignment. Without an imager the first half of that operation is missing.

You can solve it in theory with a second device, say a hand scanner on a computer. Then you are buying a second device, working two-handed across two devices, and you have more than used up the 108 euro. In practice the version without an imager is meant for operations that issue RFID numbers inside a closed system and have no existing article master to connect to. That is not fashion retail.

In one line: for stock control in a shop, C72-A13-2U with 2D imager and UHF RFID is the only sensible version. The 108 euro saved on C72-A13-U buy you a device you cannot build your stock file with. And in the same breath check the two points from the section where it fits: module CM710-1 and frequency variant 865 to 868 MHz.

The two versions without RFID

C72-A13-2 and C72-A13-2MR are barcode devices without a UHF module, at 665.00 and 814.10 euro net. They are in the table so that the price architecture is legible, and because they are easily confused with the RFID version in search results. For an RFID project they are of no use. MR stands for middle range and denotes a scan engine with a longer barcode reading distance, not an RFID range.

What comes alongside the device

The device price is the smaller part of a working setup. These items belong in any honest calculation.

  • Labels. The running cost. Bought in small quantities, around 12 to 15 cents apiece. For an initial run of 4,000 pieces that is roughly 480 to 600 euro; after that they are only needed for new goods. Detail on the page about RFID labels.
  • Label printing. If you tag your own goods you need an RFID printer that writes text, barcode and chip in one pass. That is the second hardware item and the one most often forgotten in a quotation.
  • Charging. For a single device the supplied charging solution is enough. Where several devices are in use, a multi-bay cradle belongs in the order. We have no public list price for Chainway charging accessories, so have it itemised in the quotation rather than assumed.
  • Spare battery. Sensible for full-day stocktakes and due anyway after three or four years — provided the battery can be swapped. That question is open on the C72, see the section on limits.
  • Warranty extension. Twelve months is standard, 36 months can be bought. Price the extension into the device, or you are comparing apples with pears.
  • Software and setup. The device supplies numbers, not stock control. Software, the interface to your till system and the handover are separate items. The handover itself is short; we allow around half an hour.
Procurement

Where to buy, and why direct import is no option

In short

Chainway does not sell to end customers. In Europe there is an official distributor in the Netherlands, a B2B distributor in Germany and several online shops with open prices. In Austria and Switzerland we found no distributor. Direct import from China is no option for small quantities, because it makes you the responsible economic operator yourself.

The routes that exist

  • kaufid.de and shopid.eu, both operated by ITFutuRe s.r.o. in the Czech Republic. Open prices, visible stock levels, ordering without registration. That is the simplest route for one or two devices and the source of the prices on this page.
  • Cisper Electronics B.V. in Almere, the Netherlands, official Chainway distributor for Europe. The right contact when it comes to several devices, to project pricing or to binding technical commitments.
  • BizTech Distribution, Germany, exclusively for registered B2B resellers. Not directly accessible to end customers, but the route by which a local systems house procures.

What does not exist: a manufacturer shop, a searchable dealer directory, and a distributor in Austria or Switzerland. Buyers there purchase within the EU single market from one of the dealers named, or through a local systems house.

Why direct import from China is out for small quantities

At first glance the sum looks tempting: prices at the maker or on a trading platform sit below the European ones. The catch is not technical but legal, and it is unambiguous.

Anyone importing a radio device from a third country becomes, under Article 4 of Regulation (EU) 2019/1020, the responsible economic operator. In practice that means your address has to appear on or with the device, you hold the technical documentation available for market surveillance, and you are liable for the radio conformity of the device. On top of that come the national registrations for waste electrical equipment and for batteries, packaging obligations, an EORI number and import VAT. The detail differs by member state; the principle does not.

That is not a cause for drama, just a plain calculation of effort. For a fashion shop that needs one or two devices, the effort bears no relation to the saving. Buy inside the EU and the dealer carries those obligations. And while you are at it, have the EU declaration of conformity handed over with the goods.

Accessories

Accessories, charging and software

In short

The most important accessory for the C72 is the detachable UHF pistol grip TRG-C72-PG, which carries the antenna and the trigger. Beyond that there are charging solutions, memory expansion by microSD and optional modules such as NFC and LTE. On the software side Chainway provides an Android SDK and supports device management through Soti MobiControl and SafeUEM.

The pistol grip

On the C72 the grip is not an accessory in the usual sense but the carrier of the RFID function. It is listed as TRG-C72-PG and raises the weight from 375 to 673 grams, and the depth considerably: 166.2 × 81.1 × 24.1 millimetres becomes 177 × 88.6 × 145.8 millimetres. That bulk is the price of the antenna area from which the range comes. In practice it means the grip stays on for the count and comes off for everyday work.

Options decided at the point of order

Several features of the C72 are configurable and cannot be retrofitted later. They belong in the order, not on a wish list.

  • The scan engine. The choice runs to 2D imagers from Zebra (SE4710, SE4750SR, SE4750MR, SE4750DP), from Honeywell (N6603) and from Chainway itself (CM60), plus a 1D laser from Honeywell (N4313). For hangtags and cartons in fashion retail a standard 2D imager is right; middle-range engines only pay off when barcodes have to be read from several metres away.
  • The frequency variant. 865 to 868 MHz for Europe. That is hardware and not a setting, see the section on radio approval.
  • NFC. 13.56 MHz, optional. Relevant for loyalty cards or staff badges, not for stock control as such.
  • LTE. Optional, with the bands that matter in Europe, B3, B7, B8 and B20. Worth having for branch operation without stable WLAN. The C72 offers no 5G.
  • Memory. 4 GB plus 128 GB or 4 GB plus 64 GB, together with a microSD slot. For a stock application the smaller configuration is enough.

Charging

For a single shop with one device a simple charging solution in the office or the stockroom will do. Where several devices are in use, a multi-bay charging station belongs with them. We have no public list prices for Chainway charging accessories, so we quote none.

The practical advice is the same as for any handheld: the most common fault on stocktake day is not a technical defect but a device that did not spend the night in its cradle. At more than twelve hours of continuous operation and three to four hours of charging time, a forgotten charging evening is the same thing as a postponed stocktake.

The manufacturer's software

Chainway provides an Android SDK through which an application drives the UHF module, sets the transmit power and starts read operations. That is the interface through which any stock software talks to the device. For managing devices in the field Chainway names support for Soti MobiControl and SafeUEM, which lets configuration, applications and updates be rolled out centrally across several sites. For a single shop with one device that is effort without a return; from three branches upwards it becomes interesting.

Labels and printers

The device reads what was written beforehand. Ordinary UHF hangtags with chips from Impinj or NXP work; which format suits clothing, footwear and accessories is set out in our guide to RFID labels. How the writing happens during printing is explained on the page about the RFID printer. The basics of the technology, from the antenna to the chip, are in the RFID guide and on the page about RFID readers. If you are planning fixed reading points at a doorway rather than a handheld, start with RFID antennas.

Alternatives

When another device fits better

In short

The C72 is the right choice for a shop that needs one capable stocktaking device and can live with twelve months of manufacturer warranty. If you want a documented removable battery and an update commitment, take the C5. If you first want to try whether RFID suits you at all, take the R6. For the till a different device applies in any case.

DeviceForm factorRange per the makerProtectionNet price
Chainway C72handheld with pistol grip26–30 mIP65941.60 €
Chainway C5handheld, 6-inch, battery in the grip30–33 mIP65991.50 €
Chainway R6sled for a phone you already own28–31 mIP54659.10 €
Zebra EM45 RFIDhandheld in phone formatsee device pagesee device page789.00 €
Zebra DS9908Rfixed, at the tillshort rangesee device pagefrom 1,080 USD
Zebra RFD40sled, needs a mobile computersee device pagesee device pagesee device page
Zebra TC22Rintegrated handheldsee device pagesee device pagesee device page

Prices net, as at 31.08.2026, sources: shopid.eu (C72), kaufid.de (C5 and R6) and the dealers named on the individual device pages for the Zebra models. Ranges are manufacturer figures and open-field values; in a shop the usable distances are considerably lower. For the Zebra RFD40 and TC22R we deliberately quote no figures here and refer to the device pages instead.

Chainway C5: the surcharge that pays for itself

At 991.50 euro net the Chainway C5 costs around 50 euro more than the C72 and brings three things that matter day to day. First, a 6-inch display instead of 5.2 inches. Second, a documented removable 7,000 mAh battery, plus a pistol grip with its own 13,400 mAh battery and a backup cell that allows a swap while the device is running. Third, and this is the important one, the manufacturer's statement that the device can be updated to Android 16.

On a device meant to run for five years, an update commitment is worth more than 50 euro of price difference. If you are choosing between the two today and have no compelling reason for the C72, look at the C5.

Chainway R6: the cheap way in, with a compromise

The Chainway R6 is not a handheld but a clip-on reader for a phone you already own, paired over Bluetooth, for Android and iOS. At 659.10 euro net it is the cheapest solution in this section. The compromise is real: IP54 instead of IP65, contradictory figures for battery life, a clamp that only takes phones between 68 and 80 millimetres wide, and a phone that has to be thought about. The moment you buy a company phone to go with it, the price advantage over the C72 is used up. As a way in for a shop that first wants to see whether RFID suits it, it is nonetheless the honest recommendation.

The Zebra devices in this section

Against the cheaper Zebra models, Chainway sits at roughly the same level on price. The Zebra EM45 RFID at 789.00 euro net is even below it, but in phone format it is designed for near-field capture and is much the slower solution for a full stocktake. The Zebra DS9908R is not a competitor but the complement at the till.

The real gap in price only opens up against the full-featured devices. The Zebra RFD40 is a clip-on sled and needs a mobile computer alongside it, which quickly takes a working setup into four figures. The Zebra TC22R is the integrated counterpart at a markedly higher price, but with a dense service network and the warranty terms of an established maker. If you are equipping several branches and rate downtime harshly, you have good reasons to pay that surcharge. For completeness, the Zebra TC201 and the MEFERI ME87 are covered on their own pages; the MEFERI is technically interesting but neither priced nor reliably obtainable in Europe.

The judgement this really comes down to

The argument for Chainway is not price alone but sizing. For a shop that takes stock once a year and otherwise recounts individual product groups twice a week, a device with 1,300 tags per second and four to ten metres of usable range is more than enough. The extra performance of costlier devices does not reach the floor in that usage profile. What you save on price you pay elsewhere: with twelve months of warranty instead of 24 or 36, with a thinner service network, and with the diligence of ordering the right device generation.

In one line: one shop, one device, a tight budget and somebody who checks the order carefully: the C72 in the C72-A13-2U configuration. If you want the removable battery and the update commitment: the C5. If you want to test the idea first: the R6. If you rate downtime harshly and need a service network: the established brands in this section.

Law and radio

Radio approval: what applies in Europe

In short

UHF RFID in Europe runs in the 865 to 868 MHz band, harmonised across the EU and the EEA through CEPT recommendation ERC/REC 70-03 and the harmonised standard ETSI EN 302 208, which permits up to 2 W ERP. No individual licence, no registration and no spectrum fee is required. Chainway offers the C72 as a hardware variant for 865 to 868 MHz and declares conformity with Directive 2014/53/EU, but names EN 302 208 nowhere.

The European frame

UHF RFID readers in Europe operate in the band from 865 to 868 MHz. That band is harmonised across the European Union and the European Economic Area through CEPT recommendation ERC/REC 70-03 on short range devices, and the technical basis is the harmonised standard ETSI EN 302 208, which permits up to 2 watt ERP for interrogators in this band.

Because the band is harmonised, the same device is lawful in every EU and EEA country. What differs is the national regulator that administers the general authorisation: the Bundesnetzagentur in Germany, ARCEP in France, UKE in Poland, RDI in the Netherlands, and so on for the other member states. The list is longer than that and there is no point reproducing it here; the point is that the frame is common and only the administering authority changes.

For normal operation within that general authorisation, no individual licence and no registration is needed, and no spectrum fee is payable. You buy the device, you switch it on, and you keep the conformity papers. That is the whole of it for a shop with one handheld.

The United Kingdom sits outside this. Since leaving the EU it applies its own rules, with Ofcom Interface Requirement IR 2030 for licence-exempt short range devices and UKCA marking in place of CE; if you are buying for a UK site, check the current position with your supplier rather than relying on the European frame described here.

One frequent misunderstanding concerns the comparison with the United States, where 4 watt EIRP applies. Because ERP and EIRP differ by 2.15 dB, 2 watt ERP corresponds to roughly 3.3 watt EIRP. The American limit is therefore only about 20 per cent above the European one and not double, as is occasionally written. That conversion is our own.

What Chainway states — and what it does not

Here we have to be more precise than is necessary with other manufacturers. The following is documented:

  • Chainway lists the C72 with the frequency 865 to 868 MHz as an orderable device variant for Europe, alongside 902 to 928 MHz and 920 to 925 MHz for other regions.
  • In the C72 manual Chainway declares that the device complies with the Radio Equipment Directive 2014/53/EU. That is the European RED, which covers every radio device placed on the EU market.
  • For the sister model C66 Chainway gives a specific transmit power figure of 23.58 dBm e.r.p. in the Europe section of the manual.
  • CE and RoHS certificates are available for download from a European distributor, not from the manufacturer itself.

What is not documented is any reference to the standard. An explicit statement of ETSI EN 302 208 by Chainway could be found neither on the product page nor in the datasheet nor in the manual; the Certifications row on the Chainway product pages is empty. We therefore cite the standard on this page as the legal frame for operating the device in Europe, not as a manufacturer statement about this device.

Something else that is no evidence of EU conformity: the FCC authorisation. The C72 is registered under FCC ID 2AC6AC72. That is a United States authorisation and says nothing about European conformity. Anyone citing an FCC ID as proof of fitness for operation in Europe is confusing two legal systems.

In one line: this is not a sign of a problem, but it is a difference from manufacturers who publish their list of standards. If you use the device commercially or pass it on, ask your supplier for the EU declaration of conformity and file it with the device papers. It takes five minutes and it is the clean basis for everything else.

Why devices sold for other regions may not be operated here

On the C72 the frequency is a hardware property, not a menu setting. A device built for 902 to 928 MHz cannot be switched over to Europe. That band is allocated differently here, among other things to mobile network services. Operating such a device would be an unlawful use of spectrum, regardless of whether the device works technically. It will work technically; that is precisely the problem. And a device of that kind cannot lawfully be placed on the EU market in any case.

In practice that means: watch the region code in the part number. At dealers, the European version is recognisable from designations such as C72-V4/CM710 UHF ETSI. Have it stated in writing in the order confirmation that the device supplied is configured for 865 to 868 MHz. Be particularly alert with marketplace listings and grey imports, where stock built for North America is regularly sold without any note.

What CE means and what it does not

The CE marking is a declaration by the manufacturer, or by the responsible economic operator, that the device meets the applicable EU rules, in the case of radio devices above all the Radio Equipment Directive 2014/53/EU. It is not an official test and not a quality seal. For you as the operator it is nonetheless the decisive basis, because without it the device may not be placed on the EU market at all. The EU declaration of conformity belongs with the CE marking, and you are entitled to ask for it.

This section summarises the position as at 31.08.2026 and is no substitute for legal advice. Particular installations, such as fixed doorway antennas at high transmit power, carry additional requirements, and national rules on siting can apply.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about the Chainway C72

How far does the Chainway C72 actually read?

Chainway states 26 metres with an Impinj MR6 tag, 28 metres with an Impinj M750 and 30 metres with a large anti-metal tag. Those are open-field figures. Impinj itself is far more cautious about the same device and writes of more than 15 metres outdoors. For a fashion shop we work with a third to a quarter of the catalogue figure and plan for 4 to 10 metres of usable distance. That conversion is our own estimate and not a manufacturer figure.

What is the difference between the old and the new generation of the C72?

The C72 has been built for years and is on the market in two versions. The older one carries a UHF module with the Impinj Indy R2000, reaches around 15 metres and 900 tags per second. The current one carries the module CM710-1 based on the Impinj E710 and manages, according to Chainway, 26 to 30 metres and more than 1,300 tags per second. Some dealers show old datasheets against new part numbers. Have the module designation CM710-1 confirmed in writing.

Why is the cheaper version without a barcode imager no use?

The version C72-A13-U costs 833.50 euro net instead of 941.60 euro, but has no 2D imager. The first step of every RFID roll-out is marrying up: you read the existing article barcode and link it to the number in the RFID label. Without an imager that step is missing. The 108 euro you save buy you a device you cannot build your stock file with.

Can the battery of the Chainway C72 be replaced?

That is not documented. Chainway states an 8,000 mAh battery with more than twelve hours of continuous operation and three to four hours of charging time for the C72, but does not say whether it can be swapped. For the sister model C66 the same manufacturer explicitly writes removable. We read that as a sign that it is not a given on the C72, and we recommend having the question answered in writing before you order.

What does the Chainway C72 cost?

shopid.eu lists the version with 2D imager and UHF RFID under the code C72-A13-2U at 941.60 euro net, as at 31.08.2026. The version without a barcode imager is 833.50 euro net, the versions without RFID at all are 665.00 and 814.10 euro net. Labels, a charging solution, software and setup come on top. All figures are net, excluding VAT.

Is the Chainway C72 approved for use in Europe?

Chainway offers the device as a hardware variant for 865 to 868 MHz and declares in the manual that it complies with the Radio Equipment Directive 2014/53/EU. An explicit reference to the harmonised standard ETSI EN 302 208 by the manufacturer could not be found, and the Certifications row on the product pages is empty. That is not a sign of a problem, but it is a difference from makers who publish their list of standards. Ask your supplier for the EU declaration of conformity.

How long does a stocktake of 4,000 pieces take?

At 1,300 tags per second the pure read time of just over three seconds is meaningless. By our calculation the first pass across 120 square metres takes six to ten minutes. For the complete exercise, with a second pass, the stockroom, the fitting rooms and the reconciliation, we allow one to two hours. That range is our own projection and appears in no Chainway datasheet.

How long is the Chainway warranty?

Twelve months from delivery under the manufacturer's warranty policy; an extension to 36 months can be bought. Compared with the established brands that is the weakest point of the offer. Where a dealer advertises 24 months, that is the statutory liability for conformity owed by the seller, not a manufacturer warranty. On a device in daily use, the second year is precisely the year in which the first failures arrive.

Want to tag your own stock?

HANGCOUNT provides RFID stock control for fashion shops, boutiques and sports retailers: software from 99 euro per month per location, plus 2,900 euro once for the hardware, an RFID printer and a handheld, delivered configured and with a handover. Labels are charged as used, at around 12 cents apiece. All prices net.

Related

Read on

Sources

Sources and the date of the figures

Every datasheet figure on this page is a manufacturer statement from Chainway. Where we have calculated, estimated or judged, it says so in the text. Where a figure is missing, it says “not documented” rather than carrying an estimate. All online sources were retrieved on 31.08.2026.

  • Chainway, C72 product page with the specification table, chainway.net, retrieved 31.08.2026 — the source of every datasheet figure on this page.
  • Chainway, warranty terms, chainway.net, retrieved 31.08.2026 — 12 months from delivery, extension to 36 months available to buy.
  • Impinj, partner page on the Chainway C72, impinj.com, retrieved 31.08.2026 — the figure “more than 15 m outdoors”.
  • Price source: shopid.eu (operated by ITFutuRe s.r.o., Czech Republic), net prices of the C72 versions, as at 31.08.2026.
  • Price observation for the older generation: rfidplaza.com, item C72-V3/CM710 UHF ETSI at around 909 € net, as at 31.08.2026 — quoted as a warning, not as a buying recommendation.
  • Cisper Electronics B.V., Almere, official Chainway distributor for Europe, cisper.com, retrieved 31.08.2026 — datasheets and project business.
  • BizTech Distribution, German B2B distributor, biztech-distribution.eu, retrieved 31.08.2026.
  • FCC authorisation of the C72 under the ID 2AC6AC72, fccid.io, retrieved 31.08.2026 — a US authorisation, expressly no evidence for Europe.
  • Regulation (EU) 2019/1020 on market surveillance and compliance of products, Article 4, eur-lex.europa.eu, retrieved 31.08.2026.
  • CEPT recommendation ERC/REC 70-03, relating to the use of short range devices, annex on non-specific short range devices and RFID — the instrument through which the 865–868 MHz band is harmonised across the EU and the EEA, retrieved 31.08.2026.
  • ETSI EN 302 208, radio equipment for identification in the band 865–868 MHz, up to 2 W ERP — cited as the legal frame. No reference to this standard by Chainway could be found.
  • National general authorisations administered by the member states, for example Bundesnetzagentur in Germany, ARCEP in France, UKE in Poland and RDI in the Netherlands, retrieved 31.08.2026.
  • Ofcom, Interface Requirement IR 2030, the United Kingdom regime for licence-exempt short range devices outside the EU framework, retrieved 31.08.2026.
  • Stock accuracy without RFID 65–75 %, with RFID 93–99 %, sales effect up to +5.5 %: Beck (2018), ECR Shrinkage & On-Shelf Availability Group / GS1 UK.
  • Comparison prices for the Zebra devices in the table above: Zebra EM45 RFID from 789.00 € net (RoW-800 MHz build, part BMMC452), ico.de; a second dealer quotes 862.05 € net. Zebra DS9908R: 824.00 € at mediaform.de, — whether that figure is net or gross is not stated on the page, and a second dealer quotes no price at all. We therefore carry no euro price for this device, only the US dealer price from 1,080 USD (Barcodes Inc.), unconverted. Retrieved 01.09.2026.